Dublin, city of rain

My first time in Dublin was not what I expected at all. Started with a work trip and turned out to be a trip to discover a city of enchantment.

The trip did started before getting into the plain, with all the flight and work arranges; it was about the presentation being right, the plain to be on time and the hotel room to be booked. I didn’t stop to think what I was actually going to see and look forward to. All that I knew and expected from Ireland was rain, green and why not, ginger.

Work went fine, stress as expected, but then on a Friday afternoon I was free. First on the agenda was move from the fancy Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane to a more affordable but confortable stay. A friend of mine suggested Airbnb for me to arrange an affordable and nice accommodation for the weekend. It turned out to be better than expected.

While I moved from one place to another I could see some of the sights, after all I was staying at the center of the city. I got to see the one of the Famine Memorial. Just recently I learned that those memorial are a reminder of the Great Famine period in Ireland, a period of mass starvation, disease and emigration. But behind these sculpture there is more that a moving feeling of suffering and struggle. The color and material integrates perfectly with the city, making it a whole. Makes your thing, right?

Great Famine Memorial
Great Famine Memorial in Dublin

I then took the bus at Connolly Station to Clarehall. The bus ride felt like forever, maybe because I was a little anxious to get there, leave my things and start my weekend vacation; or maybe because it was very far away. Later on the trip I learned that Clarehall was only 20 minutes away, not that far from the center of the city.

That afternoon I decided to stay in, rest a little and be prepared for a night on the town. And that my friends will be another blog post… Stay tune!

Dublin, city of rain

3 thoughts on “Dublin, city of rain

  1. Howdy! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a
    template or plugin that might be able to resolve this problem.
    If you have any recommendations, please share.
    With thanks!

    1. barbschaelh says:

      Hey,
      First of all thanks for writting, even if it’s out of topic 😉
      In my case, the template that I’ve used is mobile friendly. Also in Dashboard > Appearance > Mobile you can find the options to make your blog look Mobile Friendly 🙂
      Hope you enjoyed the post!

Leave a Reply

